Title of Academician of Science Granted to Eva-Mari Aro

​Academy Professor Eva-Mari Aro has been the Professor of Plant Physiology at the University of Turku since 1998. Her area of speciality is molecular plant biology. She has introduced a whole new area of strength of photosynthesis research into the Finnish scientific landscape. At the same time, Professor Aro's laboratory has grown into one of the world’s premier centres of photosynthesis research.

In recent years, Professor Aro and her team have focused their efforts on studying how photosynthesis can be harnessed to produce compounds beneficial to humankind following the principles of sustainable development. Professor Aro’s research applies methods of synthetic biology to the efficient production of chemicals and energy using photosynthetic organisms, mainly cyanobacteria.

At the University of Turku, Professors Sirpa Jalkanen and Arto Salomaa also have the honorary title of Academician of Science.

In addition to Aro, the President granted the title of Academician of Science to Academy Professor Markku Kulmala and Professor Emeritus Ilkka Niiniluoto . The letters of appointment will be presented to the new Academicians at a ceremony held in Helsinki on 16 March. 

The title can be held by no more than sixteen highly distinguished Finnish scientists at a time. The President of the Republic of Finland confers the honorary title of Academician of Science based on nominations made by the Academy of Finland.

>> Professor Aro's interview by the Academy of Finland

Photos: Hanna Oksanen

Published date 3/10/2017 2:20 PM ,  Modified date 3/10/2017 2:21 PM

20014 Turun yliopisto, Finland
Tel. +358 29 450 5000

People search

Follow us: 
Facebook   Twitter   Instagram   Youtube   LinkedIn
© University of Turku