UTUGS organisation
The Director of the Univeristy of Turku Graduate School (UTUGS) is appointed by the Rector of the university. The work of the Director is supported by the Graduate School Coordinator, who takes care of general administration of the Graduate School, organises doctoral training courses, works in close collaboration with the doctoral programmes and communicates with different funding organizations and other groups of interest. In addition, the Coordinator acts as the secretary of the Graduate School Steering comittee, which is chaired by the Graduate School Director and composed of senior researchers representing different scientific fields, representatives of Doctoral Candidates, and administrative staff.  The Steering committee monitors, supervises and evaluates the operations of the Graduate School together with the UTUGS working groups nominated by the Rector.
The University of Turku Graduate School coordinates and supports the activities of the Doctoral Programmes operating within the University. The objective is to guarantee the quality and smooth progress of doctoral training, and to secure fair and high quality supervision of Doctoral Candidates. For its part, the Graduate School ensures that the Doctoral Programmes have adequate infrastructure and operational preconditions for carrying out doctoral training. The Graduate School offers Doctoral Candidates versatile training by organising courses on for example statistics, transferable skills and career planning.

UTUGS Steering committee until 31.7.2017

  • UTUGS Director Pirjo Nuutila chair
  • Vice Rector Kalle-Antti Suominen
  • Dean Eija Suomela-Salmi, Faculty of Humanities
  • Vice Dean Risto Rinne, Faculty of Education
  • Vice Director Aino Halinen-Kaila, Turku School of Economics
  • Vice Dean Veli-Matti Kähäri, Faculty of Medicine
  • Vice Dean Tapio Salakoski, Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences
  • Vice Dean Veli-Pekka Viljanen, Faculty of Law
  • Professor Heikki Ervasti, Faculty of Social Sciences
  • Collegium Researcher Annamari Vänskä, TIAS
  • Director Petri Sjöblom
  • Director Riitta Mustonen
  • Doctoral Candidate Noora Lindgrén, Faculty of Medicine
  • Doctoral Candidate Sanni Jalonen, Faculty of  Social Sciences
  • UTUGS Coordinator Elise Pinta, secretary

20014 Turun yliopisto, Finland
Tel. +358 29 450 5000

People search

Follow us: 
Facebook   Twitter   Instagram   Youtube   LinkedIn
© University of Turku