Suomeksi
 
 
Supervisors for PhD studies

The main supervisor should be a professor or a docent employed in the faculty (Department of Education or Department of Teacher Education). The other supervisor should be at least a doctor.

The student should personally discuss about supervision with their main supervisor before applying for the studies. The student is also required to be in contact with their other supervisor in the different stages of postgraduate research. If needed, for instance due to a special nature of a research subject, a third supervisor can be appointed, and they should be at least a doctor. No fees are paid for supervisors outside the university, unless special funding is available and the fees can be paid from it.
 

Each full-time doctoral candidate should have a supervisory group, which includes the first supervisor and 1-2 persons with a doctoral degree. The doctoral candidate should discuss with the first supervisor and together they make a proposal for the supervisory group. The supervisory group is nominated by the Steering Committee of the Doctoral Programme. The supervisory group meets once a year, and the doctoral candidate is the convoker of the meeting. During the doctoral training the supervisory group meets four times. The doctoral candidate writes a short memo of the discussion, and reports of the meeting as part of the yearly reporting. Meeting of the supervisory group is recommended to be connected to the development and career discussions.

 

Professors and Docents in the Faculty of Education

Department of Education (mainly supervisors of KEVEKO doctoral programme)

Professors

Isopahkala-Bouret Ulpukka, PhD, Associate Professor
E-mail  ulpukka.isopahkala-bouret@utu.fi

Jauhiainen Arto, PhD, Professor of education
E-mail  artojau@utu.fi

Järvinen Tero, PhD, Associate Professor, special area of interest: youth research, sociology of education
E-mail  tero.jarvinen@utu.fi

Kivirauma Joel, PhD, Professor of special education
E-mail  joekiv@utu.fi

Rinne Risto, PhD, Professor of education, special area of interest: adult education and training
E-mail  rinne@utu.fi

Seppänen Piia, PhD, Professor on education, special area of interest: comparative education, education policy
E-mail  piia.seppanen@utu.fi

Silvennoinen Heikki, SocScD, Professor of education sociology
E-mail  heikki.silvennoinen@utu.fi

Docents

Kallo Johanna, PhD, Postdoctoral Researcher (TIAS)
Email johkal@utu.fi

Huttunen Rauno, PhD, PhD (education), University Lecturer
E-mail rakahu@utu.fi  

Pihlaja Päivi, PhD, University Lecturer
early childhood special education (HY)
E-mail paivi.pihlaja@utu.fi  

Vanttaja Markku, PhD, University Researcher
E-mail marvan@utu.fi 

Department of Teacher Education (mainly supervisors of OPPI doctoral programme)

Turku unit

Professors

Hannula-Sormunen Minna, PhD, Associate Professor
E-mail  
mimarha@utu.fi 
 
Junttila Niina, PhD, Associate Professor
E-mail  niina.junttila@utu.fi  
 
Lehtinen Erno, PhD, Professor of education, special area of interest: teacher training
E-mail erno.lehtinen@utu.fi

Lehtonen Kimmo, PhD, Professor of art education
E-mail kimmo.lehtonen@utu.fi

Mikkilä-Erdmann Mirjamaija, PhD, Professor of education, special area of interest: teacher training
E-mail mirmik@utu.fi   

Pakula Heini-Marja, PhD, Professor of didactics in foreign languages
E-mail hemajar@utu.fi

Postareff, Liisa, PhT, Associate Professor
E-mail liisa.postareff@utu.fi

Routarinne Sara, PhD, Associate Professor
E-mail  sara.routarinne@utu.fi

Silfverberg Harry, PhD, Professor of didactics in mathematical subjects    
E-mail harry.silfverberg@utu.fi

Vauras Marja, PhD, Professor of education, special area of interest: learning and teaching
E-mail marja.vauras@utu.fi

Veermans Marjaana, PhD, Associate Professor
E-mail  marjaana.veermans@utu.fi   

Virta Arja, PhD, Professor of didactics in history and social studies
E-mail arja.virta@utu.fi

Docents

Heikkilä Kristiina, PhD, Lecturer, special area of interest: teacher training
 
Helle Laura, PhD, DSc, University Researcher
 
Murtonen Mari, PhD, University Researcher
University pedagogics (University of Helsinki)
 
Palonen Tuire, PhD, University Researcher
 
Räsänen Marjo, TaT, University Lecturer
Art research and teaching (TaiK)
 
Yli-Panula Eija, PhD, University Researcher
 

Rauma unit

Professors

Husu Jukka, PhD, Professor of education, special area of interest: teachers and teacher training
 
Lepola Janne, PhD, Associate Professor
E-mail  janne.lepola@utu.fi  
 
Kinos Jarmo, PhD, Professor of Education, special area of interest: societal-historical research in early childhood education
 
Koski Pasi, PhD, Professor of physical education
Sport administration (University of Jyväskylä)
 
Lindfors Eila, PhD, Professor of handicraft
 
Silvén Maarit, PhD, Professor of education, special area of interest: early childhood education

Docents

Kemppinen Lauri, PhD, University Lecturer
education, special are of interest: teachers (University of Lapland)
E-mail lauri.kemppinen@utu.fi 

Kärki Tomi, PhD, University LecturerDocent in Discrete Mathematics  in Discrete Mathematics
Email tomi.karki@utu.fi
 
Metsärinne Mika, PhD, Lecturer, sloyd (craft & technology) education
Keywords:
Tags: