​Department of Education

The Department of Education was founded in 1957 within the Faculty of Humanities. Since 1974 the department has been a part of the Faculty of Education. The fields of education, adult education and special education belong to educational sciences. All three fields may be studied as major subjects at the Department of Education at the University of Turku. The educational sciences lie at the crossroads of anthropology, sociology and the humanities. The centres of research are all the fields of education and training. The scientific fields closest to educational sciences are psychology, sociology, philosophy and history.

The department offers training in the educational sciences to approximately 400 major students and 300 minor students annually. At the department it is possible to take the Master's, Licenciate's and Doctor's degrees. The graduates are employed in various jobs in the field of education.

The department has a staff of about 50.




It seems your browser doesn't support Javascript