Postgraduate Studies at the Faculty of Humanities

​All postgraduate students that have been granted a right to doctoral studies belong to a Doctoral Programme.  The Faculty of Humanities at the University of Turku has two Doctoral Programmes.     

Juno is the Doctoral Programme for History, Culture and Arts Studies.

The departments offering doctoral studies are: Archaeology; Art History; Comparative Literature; Comparative Religion; Cultural Heritage Studies; Cultural History; Digital Culture; European Ethnology; Finnish History; Finnish Literature; Folkloristics; Gender Studies; European and World History; Landscape Studies; Media Studies; Musicology 

Utuling is the Doctoral Programme for Language and Translation Studies.

The departments offering doctoral studies are: English, Spanish, Phonetics, Italian, Classical Languages, Scandinavian Languages, French, German, Finnish Language and Finno-Ugric Languages, Russia Studies.

Funding your studies

Finnish universities do not charge tuition fees. On the other hand, the students are expected to take care of their own living costs. Membership in a Doctoral Programme is not a guarantee for funding from the programme. Doctoral candidates of the programme may receive funding from various sources. Doctoral Programmes announce a certain amount of salaried doctoral candidate positions each year but most doctoral students receive funding from other sources.

Information on scholarships available for foreign students studying in Finland can be found from the website of Centre for International Mobility, CIMO.     
Information on Erasmus Mundus mobility grants.
Useful information on the Finnish higher education system can be found from the website of Studying in Finland.






Programme Coordinator
Ms Meri Heinonen
tel. +358 50 4535 110
Signum Service Point, 2nd floor
Faculty of Humanities

General e-mail:

Limited services on summertime. On July to the begining of August  were are on summer leave.