Suomeksi
 
 
English Department Staff

Joel Kuortti

Head of the School of Languages and Translation Studies
PhD, professor
professori
e-mail: joel.kuortti@utu.fi
tel. +358 (0)50 32 89 509 and +358 (0)29 450 3325
Office hour: Wed 11-12
Administrative Consultation: Wed 10-11
Office: Rosetta 119 

Outi Paloposki

Head of the Department
PhD, professor
professori
e-mail: outi.paloposki@utu.fi
tel. +358 (0)50 31 06 664 and +358 (0)29 450 3360
Office hour: Wed 14.30-15.30
Office: Rosetta 124 

Matti Peikola 

PhD, professor
professori
e-mail: matti.peikola@utu.fi
tel. +358 (0)50 56 41 825 and +358 (0)29 450 3361
Office hour: Wed 14-15
Office: Rosetta 125

Päivi Pietilä

PhD, professor
professori
e-mail: paivi.pietila@utu.fi
tel. +358 (0)50 57 57 109 and +358 (0)29 450 3364
Office hour: Wed 13-14
Office: Rosetta 114a   


 

Lecturers

Ira Hansen

MA, university teacher
yliopisto-opettaja
e-mail: ira.hansen@utu.fi
tel. +358 (0)50 32 89 828 and +358 (0)29 450 3300
Office hour: Tue 13-14
Office: Rosetta 126

Juhani Hiirikoski

Ph.lic, lecturer
lehtori
e-mail: juhani.hiirikoski@utu.fi
tel. +358 (0)50 32 89 219 and +358 (0)29 450 3311
Office hour: Tue 14-15
Office: Rosetta 127

Maarit Koponen

PhD, university lecturer
yliopistonlehtori
e-mail: maarit.koponen@utu.fi
tel. +358 (0)50 32 92 174 and +358 (0)29 450 3321
Office hour: Mon 12-13
Office: Rosetta 115

Janne Korkka

PhD, university lecturer
yliopistonlehtori
NAMS Coordinator
Exchange Coordinator
e-mail: janne.korkka@utu.fi
tel. +358 (0)50 32 88 198 and +358 (0)29 450 3322
Office hour: Tue 13-14
Office: Rosetta 130e

Attila Krizsán

PhD, university lecturer
yliopistonlehtori
e-mail: attila.krizsan@utu.fi
tel. +358 (0)50 32 88 467 and +358 (0)29 450 3324
Office hour: Fri 13-14
Office: Rosetta 126 

Pekka Lintunen

PhD, university lecturer, docent
yliopistonlehtori
e-mail: pekka.lintunen@utu.fi
tel. +358 (0)50 32 90 169 and +358 (0)29 450 3332
Office hour: Wed 10-11
Office: Rosetta 130d

Turo Rautaoja

MA, MBS, university teacher
yliopisto-opettaja
e-mail: turo.rautaoja@utu.fi
tel. +358 (0)50 57 62 167 and +358 (0)29 450 3365
Office hour: by appointment 
Office: Rosetta 115

Janne Skaffari

PhD, university lecturer
yliopistonlehtori
e-mail: janne.skaffari@utu.fi
tel. +358 (0)50 34 13 613 and +358 (0)29 450 3376
Office hour: Tue 14-15
Office: Rosetta 130b

Sanna-Kaisa Tanskanen 

PhD, university lecturer, docent
yliopistonlehtori, dosentti

On leave, currently at the University of Helsinki
e-mail: sanna-kaisa.tanskanen@utu.fi  

Damon Tringham

M.Phil., university teacher
yliopisto-opettaja
e-mail: damon.tringham@utu.fi
tel. +358 (0)50 46 22 567 and +358 (0)29 450 3342
Office hour: Mon 16-16:45
Office: Rosetta 114b

Elina Valovirta

PhD, university lecturer, NB: On research leave 2016-2017
yliopistonlehtori
e-mail: elina.valovirta@utu.fi
tel. +358 (0)50 30 75 188 and +358 (0)29 450 3346
Office hour: By appointment
Office: Rosetta 130c 


Keith Battarbee

PhD, associated researcher
e-mail: keibat@utu.fi

Ruth Carroll 

PhD, associated researcher
 

Risto Hiltunen

PhD, Professor Emeritus

Aino Liira

MA, doctoral candidate, UTUGS
tohtorikoulutettava
Office: Signum

Aleksi Mäkilähde

MA, doctoral candidate, UTUGS
tohtorikoulutettava
e-mail: ahpmak@utu.fi
Office hour: by appointment
Office: Signum

Susanna Mäkinen

MA, doctoral candidate
tohtorikoulutettava
e-mail: semaki@utu.fi
Office: Signum

Minna Niemi

PhD, Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Academy of Finland
tutkijatohtori, Suomen Akatemia
On leave
e-mail: minnie@utu.fi 

Daniel McKay

PhD, Postdoctoral Research Fellow
tutkijatohtori

Pauliina Peltonen

MA, doctoral candidate, UTUGS
tohtorikoulutettava
e-mail: paupelt@utu.fi
Office: Signum
MA, doctoral candidate, UTUGS
tohtorikoulutettava
Office: Signum

Hanna Salmi

MA, doctoral candidate
tohtorikoulutettava

e-mail: hanna.salmi@utu.fi
tel. +358 (0)50 52 03 423 and +358 (0)29 450 3367
Office: Rosetta 104

Elina Siltanen

PhD, Postdoctoral Research Fellow
tutkijatohtori

e-mail: elina.siltanen@utu.fi
tel. +358 (0)50 32 68 953and +358 (0)29 450 3301
Office: Rosetta 104

Ellen Valle

PhD, associated researcher
e-mail: ellen.valle@utu.fi

Mari-Liisa Varila

PhD, Postdoctoral Research Fellow
tutkijatohtori
e-mail: mari-liisa.varila@utu.fi
tel. +358 (0)50 32 68 953 and +358 (0)29 450 3301
Office hour: Tue 11-12 (NB! in room Ros 109)
Office: Rosetta 104


Academic Advising

In addition to your Academic Advisor and BA / MA thesis supervisor, you can contact english@utu.fi for guidance.
Please see here for more information on Academic Advising.

In questions related to your whole degree, minor studies or matters such as diplomas and certificates, please contact hum-info@utu.fi or visit the Faculty office.


Office

Anna Kalpio

MA, student services secretary

ON LEAVE until Jul 31, 2017.

 

Jarkko Kouhia

MA, student services secretary

e-mail: jaoskou@utu.fi
tel. +358 (0)2 333 5320
Office hour: Mon-Thu 10-12, Fri 11-12
Office: Rosetta 100
 
 

Heidi Saarinen

BA, intern

e-mail: heelsaa@utu.fi

Keywords:
Tags:
 

 Shortcuts

 
 

 Contacts

 

Postal Address
Department of English
FI-20014 UNIVERSITY OF TURKU
 
Visiting Address
Rosetta building
Koskenniemenkatu 4
20500 Turku
 
tel. +358 (0)2 333 5320
e-mail: english@utu.fi
 

 Important links