Finnish and Finno-Ugric Languages

The Department of Finnish and Finno-Ugric Languages is under the administration of the university’s School of Languages and Translation Studies at the Faculty of Humanities. The premises are located in the Fennicum building (visiting address: Henrikinkatu 3). Please visit the staff pages for the list of staff and contacts. Student organizations Kanta and Sugri organize student activities.

Related information:

Finnish Language and Culture (for Foreigners)

  • Comprised in the Department on Finnish Language and Finno-Ugric Languages there is the Finnish Language for Foreigners' study module, which is targeted to students whose mother tongue is not Finnish.
  • NB! The teaching language of the module is Finnish.

Master's Degree Programme in Finnish and Other Finno-Ugric Languages

  • The Master's Degree Programme in Finnish and Other Finno-Ugric Languages operates within the Department.
  • The Programme is targeted to non-Native speakers of Finnish who have specialized in Finnish and other other Finno-Ugric Languages, and have completed their Bachelor of Arts' degree in Finland or elsewhere.
  • The main language of teaching is Finnish.
Research Unit for Volgaic Languages



Postal Address
Finnish and Finno-Ugric Languages
Visiting Address
Fennicum building
Henrikinkatu 3
FI-20500 Turku

tel. +358 (0)2 333 5290


 Important links