​Structure of the Studies 1.8.2018-31.7.2020

Compulsory courses, 6 - 11 ECTS

  • Introduction to the Law and Information Society 4 ECTS
  • Legal Academic Writing and Research, 2 ECTS
  • The students who do not have knowlegde in Finnish language take the course KIFF0003 Finnish Intensive Beginners' Course I, 5 ECTS

Specialisation courses, 24 ECTS

Students select two courses from the following list:
  • Digital rights and internet governance 12 ECTS
  • Intellectual property protection and licensing models for new technologies
    12 ECTS
  • TLS_0073 Decoding Modern Warfare, 12 ECTS
  • TLS_1026 The Law of the EU Internal Market, 12 ECTS

Optional courses, 25-30 ECTS

The list of possible optional courses offered by Faculty of Law University of Turku is available in the study guide. In addition students can include studies from other Faculties and units (e.g. Finnish language courses) to their optional studies.

Advanced Studies, 60 ECTS

Students select one course from the following list:

Advanced studies include three modules:
  • Literature 8 ECTS
  • Seminar work 12 ECTS
  • Master’s thesis (approximately 70-100 p.) 40 ECTS 




​Compulsory courses, 6 - 11 ECTS
Specialisation courses, 24 ECTS
Optional courses, 25-30 ECTS
Advanced studies, 60 ECTS
= 120 ECTS