Doctoral studies
Doctoral training is given in the institutes and the departments of the Faculty altogether in 48 doctoral subjects. There are also 5 named research programmes of the Faculty and some independent units that take part in the doctoral training.
The University of Turku Graduate School (UTUGS) consists of local and national Doctoral Programmes which cover all disciplines and Doctoral Candidates of the University. There are 5 doctoral programmes in the Faculty of Medicine.

Doctoral degree programmes

The Faculty of Medicine offers the following academic postgraduate degrees:

  • Doctor of Medical Science (MD, PhD)
  • Doctor of Odontology (DDS, PhD)
  • Doctor of Philosophy (PhD)
  • Doctor of Health Sciences (PhD, Health Sciences)
  • Licentiate in Health Sciences (Lic. Sc, Health Sciences)

Doctoral degree process

Graduating in doctoral degree is an individual process. It depends on the doctoral degree programme, personal study plan and the thesis research of the doctoral candidate. The doctoral degree process is regulated by the Universities Act (558/2009), the Government decree on University Degrees (794/2004 and 1039/2013), the regulations issued by the Faculty and the guidelines of the University of Turku Graduate School.

Applying for the right to study for doctoral degree

Doctoral candidates for the Faculty’s doctoral programmes are selected during application periods. Information on applying is available on the webpage How to apply.