Brief introduction
​Photo: University of Turku Communications / Hanna Oksanen

​Introduction to University of Turku | Department of Nursing Science | Turku, Finland

University of Turku

The University of Turku was established in 1920. There are 20,000 students and 3,400 staff members at the University of Turku. It consists of 7 faculties and seven independent units. The faculties are:

  • Faculty of Humanities
  • Faculty of Science and Engineering
  • Faculty of Medicine
  • Faculty of Law
  • Faculty of Social Sciences
  • Faculty of Education
  • Turku School of Economics

Department of Nursing Science belongs to the Faculty of Medicine at the University of Turku.

Independent units participate in research activities alongside the faculties. The independent units are: 

  • ​Brahea Centre of University of Turku
  • Areal Research and Development
  • Centre for Maritime Studies
  • Centre for Language and Communication Studies
  • Finnish Centre for Astronomy with ESO
  • Research Unit for the Sociology of Education, RUSE
  • Turku Centre for Biotechnology
  • Turku Centre for Computing Science, TUCS
  • Turku PET Centre

Here, you will find more information about the University of Turku.

Department of Nursing Science

The Department of Nursing Science was established at the University of Turku in 1986. Currently, there are bachelors, masters and PhD programmes in nursing science. The department has eight research programmes, which all work towards the empowerment of the population, the patients and the professionals in the health care setting.

Here, you will find more information about the Department of Nursing Science and the research programmes​.

Turku, Finland 

Turku (Swedish: Åbo) is at the coast in the southwest part of Finland by the Aura river. The city origins from the 13th century and is the oldest city in Finland. It used to be the capital of Finland for several houndreds of years when Finland was a part of Sweden, but in when Finland became part of the Russian Empire the capital of Finland was moved to Helsinki (1812). Fter becoming independent in 1917, Helsinki remained the capital of Finland. In 2011, the city was appointed the European Capital of Culture. In 2018, the population of the city of Turku was 189 930 and the Turku sub-region had 328 219 inhabitants.
More information about Turku can be found here:
City of Turku
PO 355, 20101 TURKU
Phone +350 2 330 000
Aurakatu 2, 20100 Turku
Phone +358 2 262 7444
E-mail: info(at)