Päärakennus syksy

Vice Rectors and Deans of the University of Turku Appointed – Versatile and Effective Team


Rector Jukka Kola has appointed Piia Björn, Mika Hannula and Kalle-Antti Suominen as vice rectors.

After hearing the Chair of the University Board, Rector Jukka Kola has appointed the vice rectors for the term 1 January 2020–31 December 2024.

The decision was made on the basis of the application documents, interviews, and suitability assessments. In the selection of the vice rectors, the applicants’ extensive vision for developing the academic world and education and science policy as well as practical experience in leadership were particularly emphasised. Furthermore, the applicants’ emphases on which sector of the vice rector’s position they are interested in were taken into account.

– The selection of the vice rectors was also influenced by how their expertise and experience complements each other. With the appointment of vice rectors and deans, we have a quite versatile and effective team, says Rector Jukka Kola.

Kalle-Antti Suominen continues as the Vice Rector responsible for research and development of research prerequisites. He has been the University’s Vice Rector since 2012 and is also the Professor of Physics.

Piia Björn was appointed as the Vice Rector responsible for education and development of education structures. She is the Professor of Special Eduction and the Head of the School of Educational Sciences and Psychology at the University of Eastern Finland.

Mika Hannula was appointed as the Vice Rector responsible for societal interaction and impact. He is the Professor of Knowledge Management at the University of Turku and the Director of TechCampus Turku. Hannula is also the former Rector and Vice Rector of Tampere University of Technology.

The Rector also appointed Professor Pekka Hänninen as the Dean of the Faculty of Medicine and Professor Tapio Salakoski as the Dean of the Faculty of Science and Engineering. The deans ot the other faculties were appointed earlier.

The Deans of the faculties for the term 1 January 2020–31 December 2024

  • Faculty of Humanities, Jaakko Suominen
  • Faculty of Education, Jukka Husu
  • Faculty of Science and Engineering, Tapio Salakoski
  • Faculty of Medicine, Pekka Hänninen
  • Faculty of Law, Anne Kumpula
  • Turku School of Economics, Markus Granlund
  • Faculty of Social Sciences, Louis Clerc.


More information:
Rector Jukka Kola
tel. +358 29 450 5050


Created 27.11.2019 | Updated 27.11.2019