Specialist training at the Faculty of Medicine

Please note that the specialist training at the Faculty of Medicine is only offered in Finnish.

The University of Turku offers 50 specialist training programmes in medicine and 5 programmes in dentistry. The number and titles of specialities have been defined in Finnish legislation on specialist education (Decree No 56/2015).

Specialist training in medicine/dentistry can be taken by professionals licensed by the National Supervisory Authority for Welfare and Health (Valvira). The specialist degree requires usually 5 or 6 years of medical practice including at least 9 months of services in public health care centers, theoretical and administrative courses and passing a national written exam.

The Faculty grants the study right, but the training itself takes place within the health care system. The selection of physicians to the training posts at Faculty-approved training units is conducted as per the respective selection procedures of the organisations in question.