Doctoral Training in the Faculty of Science and Engineering

High quality research is a strength of this multidisciplinary faculty, in which numerous research projects offer inspiring assignments for doctoral candidates. Doctoral training is organised into doctoral programmes, which actively develop the contents of the education and support internationalisation.

The faculty offers high-quality education which aims for a Doctor of Philosophy degree in natural sciences. You can also get an education of the innovation-oriented Doctor of Science (Technology) degree in the fields of biotechnology and information and communication technology. Moreover, the faculty educates doctors in the field of phonetics. Approximately, 30% of all doctoral degrees at the University of Turku are completed in the Faculty of Science and Engineering.
Timetable of the faculty's decisions concerning doctoral education

Dean's decisions

The most matters concerning doctoral education are decided by the Vice Dean. Such matters include:

  • appointing pre-examiners, Opponent and Custos;
  • the permission to send a thesis manuscript to pre-examination;
  • the permission for the defence of dissertation;
  • postgraduate degree study rights;
  • updates to supervision plans;
  • other postgraduate matters

Documents for decision-making should be submitted a couple of days before the closing date.

Preliminary timetable for Vice Dean's decisions

The Vice Dean makes decisions on the dates specified in the schedule. Documents for decision-making should be submitted a couple of days earlier.

  • 16 August 2019.
  • 28 August 2019
  • 6 September 2019
  • 20 September 2019
  • 4 October 2019
  • 18 October 2019
  • 28 October 2019
  • 8 November 2019
  • 27 November 2019
  • 13 December 2019

Faculty Board

The Faculty Board makes decides on accepting doctoral dissertations.

The meeting timetable of the Faculty Board:

  • 20 August 2019
  • 19 September 2019
  • 26 September 2019
  • 30 October 2019
  • 26 November 2019
  • 17 December 2019