Study opportunities for doctoral researchers from other universities: JOO studies and doctoral courses network

Doctoral researchers studying at other Finnish universities can apply for the right to study for courses offered by the University of Turku Graduate School (UTUGS) and doctoral programmes.

How to apply for the study right

You can apply for the study right in the following ways:

  1. The University of Turku is part of a national network that offers doctoral courses to doctoral researchers from partner universities. The courses are available and free of charge to all doctoral researchers who have a right to study at a partner university. Study right can be applied for with an electronic application form.
  2. If the course you wish to attend is not available via the national doctoral courses network or if you have a study right for a doctoral degree at a Finnish university that is not participating in the network, you can apply for a flexible study right (JOO). Flexible study right is applied for with an electronic application form.
    • You can find the studies available in the Study Guide of the University of Turku (see links to the Study Guide under 'Courses'). Not all courses are available for doctoral researchers of other universities
    • When applying for JOO studies, you must obtain the approval for the studies from your home university. When your home university approves your application, it also agrees to pay the fee to the University of Turku in accordance with the JOO agreement.
  3. If you have a right to study at Åbo Akademi, you can apply for a flexible study right with an electronic application form. In accordance with the agreement between the universities, your home university will not be charged any fees. 

Granting the study right

  • You must be an attending degree student at your home university in Finland to apply for a study right. 
  • When applying for a flexible study right (JOO), you must obtain the approval of your home university on a paper application form (except for Åbo Akademi). Attach the paper application form approved by your home university as a scanned copy to the electronic JOO application form. Your application cannot be processed without the approval of your home university. 

  • The application will be processed by the faculties organising the courses. 

  • The granted study right is recorded in the University of Turku's Student and Study Information System Peppi. You will receive an email from the Student Centre Disco when the study right has been recorded. You will also receive instructions on how to activate your UTU user account. You will need the UTU user account to log in to the Peppi system, where you can e.g. register for courses.

  • Please note that obtaining a study right is not the same as registering for a course, you still have to register for the course in Peppi.



National doctoral courses network

From autumn 2023, the University of Turku will participate in the national doctoral courses network. In addition to the University of Turku, the network includes the following universities: Aalto University, Hanken School of Economics, University of Eastern Finland, University of Jyväskylä, University of Lapland, LUT University, University of Oulu, Tampere University, University of Vaasa and Åbo Akademi. Courses open to all doctoral researchers at the partner universities can be found on the Doctoral courses in Finland website.

Courses of the University of Turku Graduate School (UTUGS)

The courses are available to all doctoral researchers at the University of Turku and Åbo Akademi (with the exception of the English language courses offered by the Centre for Language and Communication Studies and university pedagogy courses, which can only be attended by doctoral researchers at the University of Turku). If possible, doctoral researchers from other universities will also be admitted to the courses. Courses are offered in the following areas:

  • Research ethics
  • Research methods and statistics
  • Research tools and technical skills
  • Scientific writing, publishing and communication
  • Pedagogical skills
  • Entrepreneurship, business, rights and law

Courses of the University of Turku Graduate School (UTUGS)

Courses of the Doctoral Programmes

Faculties and doctoral programmes also organises some courses that are open to all doctoral researchers. Please check the course information to see if participation is possible. If needed, contact the coordinator of the doctoral programme for more information.

Faculty of Humanities

Faculty of Education

Faculty of Medicine

Faculty of Science

Faculty of Law

Faculty of Technology

Turku School of Economics

Faculty of Social Sciences