Anne Roivainen profile picture
Professor, Turku PET Centre
Professor, Turku PET Centre
Professor of Preclinical Imaging and Drug Research


+358 40 824 3510
Kiinamyllynkatu 4-8

Areas of expertise

Molecular Imaging
Inflammation Imaging


Our group is based in Turku PET Centre, University of Turku and Turku University Hospital. Our research focuses on developing radiopharmaceuticals for the PET imaging of various inflammatory diseases.

Inflammation is a significant component of several chronic diseases involving the cardiovascular, metabolic, respiratory, gastro-intestinal, musculoskeletal and nervous systems. Positron emission tomography (PET) with targeted probes enables evaluation of the molecular and cellular pathophysiological mechanisms of diseases (i.e. molecular imaging). However, more specific markers than the currently used glucose analogue, fluorodeoxyglucose 18F-FDG, are needed to assess inflammation and its consequences in different pathologies. Aims of our studies are pre-clinical evaluation of new targeted probes and techniques for molecular imaging of inflammation. The imaging agents will be evaluated in experimental models of inflammation, in healthy subjects and in patients. The main hypothesis is that sensitive whole-body imaging of inflammation will enable early diagnosis, help in patient selection to particular therapy and monitor therapy outcome. Noteworthy, the development of new radiopharmaceuticals requires several years’ effort and expensive proof-of-concept and acute toxicity studies. Our research is focusing on PET tracers and to lesser extent magnetic resonance (MR) and single-photon emission computed tomography (SPECT) imaging agents.


Sort by:

Macrophage Hitchhiking Nanoparticles for the Treatment of Myocardial Infarction: An In Vitro and In Vivo Study (2023)

Advanced Functional Materials
Torrieri Giulia, Iqbal Imran, Fontana Flavia, Talman Virpi, Liljenbäck Heidi, Putri Andriana, Nammas Wail, Rajander Johan, Guo-Li Xiang, Low Philip S., Teesalu Tambet, Roivainen Anne, Hirvonen Jouni, Ruskoaho Heikki, Balasubramanian Vimalkumar, Saraste Antti, Santos Hélder A.
(Vertaisarvioitu alkuperäisartikkeli tai data-artikkeli tieteellisessä aikakauslehdessä (A1))

Detection of Intestinal Inflammation by Vascular Adhesion Protein-1-Targeted [68Ga]Ga-DOTA-Siglec-9 Positron Emission Tomography in Murine Models of Inflammatory Bowel Disease (2023)

Molecular Imaging and Biology
Bhowmik Achol A., Heikkilä Taina R. H., Polari Lauri, Virta Jenni, Liljenbäck Heidi, Moisio Olli, Li Xiang-Guo, Viitanen Riikka, Jalkanen Sirpa, Koffert Jukka, Toivola Diana M., Roivainen Anne
(Vertaisarvioitu alkuperäisartikkeli tai data-artikkeli tieteellisessä aikakauslehdessä (A1))

High folate receptor expression in gliomas can be detected in vivo using folate-based positron emission tomography with high tumor-to-brain uptake ratio divulging potential future targeting possibilities (2023)

Frontiers in Immunology
Miner Maxwell W. G., Liljenbäck Heidi, Virta Jenni, Kärnä Salli, Viitanen Riikka, Elo Petri, Gardberg Maria, Teuho Jarmo, Saipa Piritta, Rajander Johan, Mansour A Mansour Hasan, Cleveland Nathan A., Low Philip S., Li Xiang-Guo, Roivainen Anne
(Vertaisarvioitu alkuperäisartikkeli tai data-artikkeli tieteellisessä aikakauslehdessä (A1))