Mikko Tikkanen profile picture
Assistant Professor, Molecular Plant Biology


+358 29 450 4206
+358 50 439 9297
Tykistökatu 6

Areas of expertise

regulation of photosynthesis
electron transfer
excitation energy transfer
chloroplast signaling


Mikko Tikkanen obtained Ph.D. from University of Turku 2009 and after that worked as postdoc/experienced Marie Curie researcher in University of Geneva, Switzerland in 2011 – 2012. After that he returned to University of Turku has worked there as Postdoctoral researcher of Academy of Finland and university lecturer and researcher. Mikko is one of the writers of Science Wednesday Blog in the webpage of Finnish Association of Science Editors and Journalists and also otherwise tries to be as active as possible towards the society.


Mikko is teaching in various courses from basic plant anatomy to advanced photosynthesis and scientific communication. He has also supervised/supervising several M.Sc. and Ph.D. theses.


Mikko’s general research are is related to the structure, function and regulation of photosynthetic apparatus. His research interests include mechanisms and the interaction between different mechanisms controlling excitation energy, electron and proton transfer in the photosynthetic machinery. He is also interested in the mechanisms and physiological significance of Photosystem I and Photosystem II photodamage. Mikko has authored more than 40 papers related to different aspects of his research interests. Altogether his papers gain about 400 citations per year. 

Currently Mikko leads “Learning LED” Research to Business project funded by Business Finland.




Sort by:

Beyond APAR and NPQ: Factors Coupling and Decoupling SIF and GPP Across Scales (2021)

IEEE International Symposium on Geoscience and Remote Sensing, IEEE International Geoscience and Remote Sensing Symposium proceedings (IGARSS)
Porcar-Castell Albert, Malenovský Zbyněk, Magney Troy, Van Wittenberghe Shari, Fernández-Marín Beatriz, Maignan Fabienne, Zhang Yongguang, Maseyk Kadmiel, Atherton Jon, Albert Loren P., Robson Thomas Matthew, Zhao Feng, Garcia-Plazaola Jose-Ignacio, Ensminger Ingo, Rajewicz Paulina A., Grebe Steffen, Tikkanen Mikko, Kellner James R., Ihalainen Janne A., Rascher Uwe, Logan Barry
(Vertaisarvioitu artikkeli konferenssijulkaisussa (A4))