Pekka Taimen profile picture
Associate Professor, Institute of Biomedicine


+358 29 450 4524
+358 50 431 1353
Kiinamyllynkatu 10

Areas of expertise

cell biology
prostate cancer, bladder cancer, nuclear lamin


Pekka Taimen received his MD degree from the University of Turku in 2001 and defended his thesis at the Department of Pathology, University of Turku in 2004. In 2008-2009 PT worked as a postdoctoral fellow in the laboratory of Prof. Robert D. Goldman, Northwestern University Medical School, Chicago. Postdoctoral studies focusing on nuclear intermediate filament proteins called lamins were further continued as a junior group leader after returning back to Turku in early 2010. In 2011 PT received a specialist degree in Pathology and since then he has worked as a part-time specialist in the Pathology Division, Turku University Hospital with special focus on uropathology. From 2012 PT has worked as a Clinical lecturer in Pathology and between 2015-2019 as a part-time Academy of Finland Clinical Researcher. PT was appointed as a tenure track Assistant Professor of Molecular Pathology in January 2019 and an Associate Professor in August 2020.


Pekka Taimen has more than 10 years of experience in teaching medical students at the Institute of Biomedicine, University of Turku. He has served first as a university teacher and from 2012 as a clinical lecturer. In 2015 PT received the Lecturer of the Year award in the Faculty of Medicine.


Assistant Professor Pekka Taimen has 20 years of experience in cell and molecular biology as well as in translational research. The main focus of his research group is on human diseases caused by lamin mutations, such as cardiomyopathies and premature aging syndrome. More recently, PT has also actively worked on prostate and bladder cancer related projects including novel biomarkers, biobanking, patient derived cell lines and improved imaging techniques utilizing digital pathology and machine learning approaches.


Sort by:

Computer extracted gland features from H&E predicts prostate cancer recurrence comparably to a genomic companion diagnostic test: a large multi-site study (2021)

npj Precision Oncology
Leo P, Janowczyk A, Elliott R, Janaki N, Bera K, Shiradkar R, Farre X, Fu PF, El-Fahmawi A, Shahait M, Kim J, Lee D, Yamoah K, Rebbeck TR, Khani F, Robinson BD, Eklund L, Jambor I, Merisaari H, Ettala O, Taimen P, Aronen HJ, Bostrom PJ, Tewari A, Magi-Galluzzi C, Klein E, Purysko A, Shih NN, Feldman M, Gupta S, Lal P, Madabhushi A
(A1 Alkuperäisartikkeli tieteellisessä aikakauslehdessä)

Folate Receptor β Targeted PET Imaging of Macrophages in Autoimmune Myocarditis (2020)

Journal of Nuclear Medicine
Arghavan Jahandideh, Sauli Uotila, Mia Ståhle, Jenni Virta, Xiang-Guo Li, Ville Kytö, Päivi Marjamäki, Heidi Liljenbäck, Pekka Taimen, Vesa Oikonen, Jukka Lehtonen, Mikko I. Mäyranpää, Qingshou Chen, Philip S. Low, Juhani Knuuti, Anne Roivainen, Antti Saraste
(A1 Alkuperäisartikkeli tieteellisessä aikakauslehdessä)

A Prospective Comparison of 18 F-prostate-specific Membrane Antigen-1007 Positron Emission Tomography Computed Tomography, Whole-body 1.5 T Magnetic Resonance Imaging with Diffusion-weighted Imaging, and Single-photon Emission Computed Tomography/Computed Tomography with Traditional Imaging in Primary Distant Metastasis Staging of Prostate Cancer (PROSTAGE) (2020)

European Urology Oncology
Anttinen M, Ettala O, Malaspina S, Jambor I, Sandell M, Kajander S, Rinta-Kiikka I, Schildt J, Saukko E, Rautio P, Timonen KL, Matikainen T, Noponen T, Saunavaara J, Löyttyniemi E, Taimen P, Kemppainen J, Dean PB, Blanco Sequeiros R, Aronen HJ, Seppänen M, Boström PJ
(A1 Alkuperäisartikkeli tieteellisessä aikakauslehdessä)

Combined Use of Prostate-specific Antigen Density and Magnetic Resonance Imaging for Prostate Biopsy Decision Planning: A Retrospective Multi-institutional Study Using the Prostate Magnetic Resonance Imaging Outcome Database (PROMOD). (2020)

European Urology Oncology
Falagario UG, Jambor I, Lantz A, Ettala O, Stabile A, Taimen P, Aronen HJ, Knaapila J, Perez IM, Gandaglia G, Fossati N, Martini A, Cucchiara V, Picker W, Haug E, Haines K, Ratnani P, Sujit N, Lewis S, Sanguedolce F, Selvaggio O, Cormio L, Macarini L, Tewari A, Nordström T, Boström PJ, Briganti A, Carrieri G
(A1 Alkuperäisartikkeli tieteellisessä aikakauslehdessä)

Negative Predictive Value of Biparametric Prostate Magnetic Resonance Imaging in Excluding Significant Prostate Cancer: A Pooled Data Analysis Based on Clinical Data from Four Prospective, Registered Studies (2020)

European Urology Focus
Juha Knaapila, Ivan Jambor, Otto Ettala, Pekka Taimen, Janne Verho, Ileana Montoya Perez, Aida Kiviniemi, Tapio Pahikkala, Harri Merisaari, Tarja Lamminen, Jani Saunavaara, Hannu J.Aronen, Kari T.Syvänen, Peter J.Boström
(A1 Alkuperäisartikkeli tieteellisessä aikakauslehdessä)