Teijo Lehtonen profile picture
Senior Researcher, Software Engineering
Mixed Reality research group


+358 29 450 2452
+358 44 440 0005
Vesilinnantie 5

Areas of expertise

mixed reality
virtual reality
augmented reality
extended reality


D.Sc. (Tech.) Teijo Lehtonen works as a Senior Research Fellow at the University of Turku, Department of Computing, where he leads the Mixed-Reality research group. Lehtonen has D.Sc. (Tech.) degree in electronics from University of Turku in 2009, and he was granted the Academy of Finland postdoctoral researcher’s grant for 2011-2013. D.Sc. (Tech.) Lehtonen has been the principal investigator (PI) in numerous research and development projects with the total value of several million euros. Lehtonen has published over 50 scientific articles.


Dr. Lehtonen is the principal teacher on advanced-level course Mixed Reality, which covers mixed reality theory and technologies, use in differenet sectors and development of AR and VR applications.

Lehtonen supervises B.Sc., B.Sc. (Tech.), M.Sc. and M.Sc. (Tech.) theses with typically topics related to mixed reality.


Mixed Reality research group Dr. Lehtonen leads researches various aspects of augmented and virtual reality. The research covers the whole spectrum of the topic from hardware accelerated tracking solutions and sensors to user interfaces and storytelling mechanisms of augmented reality applications. Special attention is given on cost-effective production in multidisciplinary teams and the creation of personal digital experiences. The group develops mobile applications in close cooperation with companies and organizations both for business and consumer sectors.


Sort by:

Reforming the representation of the reformation: Mixed reality narratives in communicating tangible and intangible heritage of the protestant reformation in Finland (2017)

2016 22nd International Conference on Virtual System & Multimedia (VSMM)
Lauri Viinikkala, Laura Yli-Seppälä, Olli I. Heimo, Seppo Helle, Lauri Härkänen, Sami Jokela, Lauri Järvenpää, Timo Korkalainen, Jussi Latvala, Juho Pääkylä, Kaapo Seppälä, Tuomas Mäkilä, Teijo Lehtonen
(Vertaisarvioitu artikkeli konferenssijulkaisussa (A4))