Honorary Doctors

The Faculty can grant the title of honorary doctor and the related insignia to a person who is considered to be deserving of such an acknowledgement based on their scientific or cultural achievements or on their merits in promoting science, arts or culture.

Honorary Doctors 2022

Faculty of Humanities

Professor John McLeod, University of Leeds

Faculty of Science

Professor Adil Bagirov, Federation University Australia
Environmental influencer Saara Kankaanrinta

Faculty of Medicine

Professor Beat Imhof, University of Geneva
Professor Gabriele Meyer, Martin Luther University of Halle-Wittenberg

School of Economics

Professor Barbara Czarniawska, University of Gothenburg
Secretary-General of GRLI, Professor Anders Aspling

Faculty of Law 

Professor David Whyte, Queen Mary University of London

Faculty of Social Sciences

Professor Anette Fasang, Humboldt University of Berlin
Professor James Hawdon, Virginia Tech

Faculty of Education

Professor Martin Thrupp, University of Waikato
Director General of International Baccalaureate Organization Olli-Pekka Heinonen

Faculty of Technology

Professor Johanna Myllyharju, University of Oulu
Kiinteistöneuvos (Finnish honorary title) Heikki Vaiste.

Honorary Doctors 2021

Faculty of Humanities, Faculty of Science and Faculty of Technology

Chair of Kone Foundation Board of Trustees Hanna Nurminen

Professor Laura A. Janda, the Arctic University of Norway

Professor Rita Felski, University of Virginia

Professor Nora Berrah, University of Connecticut

Managing Director Jan Meyer

Faculty of Medicine

Professor Uwe Ewald, Uppsala University

Journalist Tiina Merikanto

School of Economics

Professor Erik Brynjolfsson, Standford University

Chairman of the Board of Directions Panu Routila

Faculty of Law

Deputy Parliamentary Ombudsman Maija Sakslin

President of the Supreme Administrative Court Kari Kuusiniemi

Faculty of Social Sciences

Professor Robert E. Goodin, Australian National University

Professor of Practice Riitta Monto

Faculty of Education

Professor Lisbeth Lundahl, Umeå University

Professor Emeritus Jouni Välijärvi, University of Jyväskylä

Honorary Doctors 2017

Faculty of Humanities

Emeritus Professor Kenneth Hyltenstam, Stockholm UniversitySweden


Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences

Professor Irina Artsimovitch, Ohio State University, USA
Professor Bernard De Baets, Ghent University, Belgium


Faculty of Medicine

Chief Executive Officer Makoto Nakao, GC Corporation, Japan

Professor Irving Weissman, Stanford University, USA


School of Economics

Emeritus Professor James Allen Dator, University of Hawaii, USA

Chief Executive Officer​ Ilpo Korhonen, Valmet Automotive Oy


Faculty of Law

Professor Olli Mäenpää, University of Helsinki


Faculty of Social Sciences

Professor Matti Lehtihalmes, University of Oulu
Emerita Professor Susan Mendus, University of York, United Kingdom


Faculty of Education

Emeritus Professor Ari Antikainen, University of Eastern Finland

Professor Anastasia Efklides, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Greece

Honorary Doctors 2015

 The Faculty of Humanities


Emeritus Professor Manfred Frank

University of Tübingen, Germany


Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences


Professor Makoto Komiyama

Life Science Center of Tsukuba Advanced Research Alliance,

University of Tsukuba, Japan


Professor Gunter Schneider

Department of Medical Biochemistry and Biophysics,

Karolinska Institutet, Sweden


Faculty of Medicine


Professor Ele Ferrannini

National Research Council,

University of Pisa, Italy


Professor W. Allan Walker

Harvard Medical School, USA


School of Economics


Professor Jörg Becker

University of Münster, Germany


Chief of Defence, General Jarmo Lindberg


Faculty of Law


President of the Supreme Court Pauliine Koskelo


Faculty of Social Sciences


Emeritus professor Marinus Voeten

Behavioral Science Institute,

Radbould University Nijmegen, Netherlands


Professor Ole Wæver

Department of Political Science,

University of Copenhagen, Denmark


Faculty of Education


Emerita Professor Sirkka Ahonen

University of Helsinki


Professor Johann Gruber

University of Regensburg, Germany