Otorhinolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery

The Department of Otorhinolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery (ENT-HNS) covers a wide range of regions, including the ear, nose, throat, head and neck. The diseases of the ear also include audiological and vestibular disorders. 

One of the largest patient groups of the field are patients with nose and paranasal sinus diseases. The diseases of the oral cavity, pharynx and oesophagus are taught partly in collaboration with the oral and maxillofacial surgery unit, and this part of the training also covers the larynx, trachea and bronchial tree. Communication disorders are taught in collaboration with the Specialty of Phoniatrics. Head and neck oncology also covers the benign and malignant diseases of the region.

The Department was founded in Turku University Hospital in 1759 as a nine-bed ward. The Faculty of Medicine was established in the University of Turku in 1943, and the regular training of medical students was initiated in 1945. The first Professor of ENT at the University of Turku was Urpo Siirala (1947–1958). He was succeeded by Professors Otto H. Meurman (1957–1987), Erkki Virolainen (1988–2001), Reidar Grénman (2001–2016) and Jussi Jero (2017–). The professor of the Department also serves as the head of the Clinical Department.