About the Faculty of Technology

The Faculty of Technology is a new faculty at the University of Turku that was established in the beginning of 2021.

The Faculty consists of the Department of Computing, Department of Biotechnology and the Department of Mechanical and Materials Engineering. There are over 2,000 basic and postgraduate degree students at the Faculty and circa 450 members of personnel of which 50 are professors. The Faculty of Technology is one of the largest faculties at the University of Turku.

Technology education has a long history at the University of Turku, as Master’s degrees in information and communication technology as well as in biotechnology have been offered for almost 20 years. After the education expansion and the teaching reform, the newest fields of study in technology are mechanical and materials engineering. In addition to the Master of Science degrees, it is possible to pursue a Master of Arts degree in computer science and biochemistry.

Technology is, above all, about applying the knowledge produced by scientific research to the benefit of people, businesses and society. At the Faculty of Technology, emphasis is put on using the knowledge produced in the field as a basis for solving the complex problems of today. The Faculty is an active partner of the businesses in the region. The collaboration extends from examining the correspondence between education and professional life needs, and using the expertise of businesses  in teaching, to joint research projects.