The University of Turku as a Regional Actor

The University of Turku is an important regional actor that plays a central role in the economic, social and cultural development of the whole Southwestern Finland. The university works closely with local partners and is constantly looking for partners for various research and development projects that strengthen regional development and the regional economy, as well as activities that develop cultural and social life.

University of Turku Campuses

In addition to the Turku campus, the University operates in Southwest Finland and Satakunta region in Rauma and Pori. Sat@Oppi, which provides continuing education and development services, operates in connection with the Department of Teacher Education located in Rauma. In Pori, the University of Turku operates as part of the the University Consortium, offering studies in the areas of business administration, cultural production and landscape studies and maritime studies. The University of Turku also has activities in Salo with the local business community and development company, as well as the local school network.

The University of Turku operates two reseach stations in Finland: the Kevo Subarctic Research Institute at Utsjoki in Lapland and the Archipelago Research Institute at the island of Seili in Parainen. These research stations belong to the University's Biodiversity Unit and do significant work for the benefit of Finnish nature.

At the attractions of the University of Turku and Turku University Foundation, you can get inspired about science, research and history. Interesting visiting centres can be found at:

Regional Cooperation in Research and Development

The higher education institutions operating in Turku work together regionally through administrative cooperation. An advisory board and a steering group have been established for this purpose. In practice, regional cooperation is carried out in key fields of expertise, for example through campus centres, research programs and various network activities.

Culture Campus Turku is a cooperation forum formed by four universities, Turku Conservatory, Turku Science Park Ltd and the City of Turku, which brings together cultural sector actors from the Turku region and strengthens their strategic cooperation for the development of an European city of academia and culture.

TechCampus Turku is a network formed by the University of Turku, Åbo Akademi University, Turku University of Applied Sciences and Novia University of Applied Sciences, whose goal is to build a constantly better technology ecosystem in the Turku economic area and to increase Turku's attractiveness among both students and companies in the field.

Health Campus Turku offers opportunities for research activities, innovations and business cooperation in the fields of medicine, social and health care and technology. The knowledge cluster's collaboration includes six partner organizations: The wellbeing services county of Southwest Finland, University of Turku, Åbo Akademi University, Turku University of Applied Sciences, Novia University of Applied Sciences and Turku Science Park Ltd as a new party.

The University of Turku’s Futures Knowledge Distillery serves organisations whose goals are to develop their foresight skills and the ability to prepare for changes in the operating environment. You can familiarize yourself with the operation for example in Polttimo forecasting forums, which are part of Futures Knowledge Distillery's regional forecasting package. The purpose of the operation is to support the top industries of Southwestern Finland by utilizing the future information to help them find new potential openings and to anticipate disruptions.

The Turku Urban Research Program is a joint research program of the City of Turku, the University of Turku and Åbo Akademi University, which conducts interdisciplinary research on urban development. The urban research program 2022–2025 takes its theme from the mayoral program and strategy of the city of Turku.

For advocacy and cooperation related to the European Union, the University of Turku, Åbo Akademi University, Turku University of Applied Sciences and Novia University of Applied Sciences have established a joint network called TRUEnet.