Professor, Materials Research Laboratory
Professor, Head of Materials Research Laboratory


+358 29 450 4281
+358 50 339 6892
Vesilinnantie 5

Areas of expertise

Synchrotron radiation
ion mass spectroscopy
electron spectroscopy
coincidence spectroscopy
molecular dynamics
ultrafast processes
radiation damage
molecular structure;


My research is focussed on fundamental studies of the interaction of small quantum systems (such as molecules, multimers of biomolecules, small clusters) with light -- x-rays and ionizing UV radiation.The ultrafast processes that occur in the femtosecond-scale following the absorption of energy are the key for understanding many phenomena such as radiation damage in DNA and other biomolecules, light-activated processes (such as vision or many catalytic processes) but also the action and efficiency of radiosensitizing agents in cancer therapy.

Our research is based on advanced spectroscopic methods such as multiparticle coincidence spectroscopy, actively utilizing large international infrastructures: SACLA free-electron laser in Japan,  EuXFEL in Germany, MAX-IV synchrotron in Sweden. We are also active in designing and building new instruments for these facilities. The research is carried out withing the framework of large international collaborations, closely involving also theoretical calculations and modeling.


Sort by:

Ultrafast dissociation of ammonia: Auger Doppler effect and redistribution of the internal energy (2022)

Physical Chemistry Chemical Physics
Travnikova Oksana, Kukk Edwin, Hosseini Farzad, Granroth Sari, Itälä Eero, Marchenko Tatiana, Guillemin Renaud, Ismail Iyas, Moussaoui Roba, Journel Loïc, Bozek John, Püttner Ralph, Krasnov Pavel, Kimberg Victor, Gel'mukhanov Faris, Piancastelli Maria Novella, Simon Marc
(Vertaisarvioitu alkuperäisartikkeli tai data-artikkeli tieteellisessä aikakauslehdessä (A1))

Time-resolved Imaging of Transient Charge Transfer Dynamics (2022)

International Conference on Ultrafast Phenomena
Allum F., Kumagai Y., Nagaya K., Harries J., Iwayama H., Niozu A., Ashfold M., Britton M., Bucksbaum P., Brouard M., Burt M., Heathcote D., Hockett P., Howard A., Kukk E., Lee J., Liu Y., McManus J., Milesevic D., Minns R., Niskanen J., Orr-Ewing A., Rolles D., Rudenko A., Ueda K., Unwin J., Vallance C., Walmsley T., Forbes R.
(Vertaisarvioimaton konferenssijulkaisu (B3))

Disentangling sequential and concerted fragmentations of molecular polycations with covariant native frame analysis (2022)

Physical Chemistry Chemical Physics
McManus Joseph W., Walmsley Tiffany, Nagaya Kiyonobu, Harries James R., Kumagai Yoshiaki, Iwayama Hiroshi, Ashfold, Michael N. R., Britton Mathew, Bucksbaum Philip H., Downes-Ward Briony, Driver Taran, Heathcote David, Hockett Paul, Howard, Andrew J., Kukk Edwin, Lee Jason W. L., Liu Yusong, Milesevic Dennis, Minns Russell S., Niozu Akinobu, Niskanen Johannes, Orr-Ewing Andrew J., Owada Shigeki, Rolles Daniel, Robertson Patrick A., Rudenko Artem, Ueda Kiyoshi, Unwin James, Vallance Claire, Burt Michael, Brouard Mark, Forbes Ruaridh, Allum Felix
(Vertaisarvioitu alkuperäisartikkeli tai data-artikkeli tieteellisessä aikakauslehdessä (A1))