Cariology and Restorative Dentistry

Department of the Cariology and Restorative Dentistry is one of the main departments in the Institute of Dentistry and the one with the largest responsibility for undergraduate and postgraduate teaching. 

Our dental teaching activities include dental anatomy and morphology, cariology, operative dentistry, endodontics and pediatric dentistry. Our primary mission is to provide high quality didactic, pre-clinical and clinical instructions to undergraduate students in contemporary and evidence-based dentistry. This includes the understanding of primary and comprehensive preventive and therapeutic oral health care for patients, including those with special health care needs. 

The department is also in charge of specialist education with the main focus on Cariology, Endodontics and Pediatric Dentistry. 

Contact information

University of Turku, Institute of Dentistry, Lemminkäisenkatu 2, FI-20520 Turku

Office Assistant Sari Heikkilä



Professor and Chair, DDS, PhD, FADM Arzu Tezvergil-Mutluay
Docent (Adjunct Professor), University Lecturer, DDS, PhD Merja Anneli Laine
Docent (Adjunct Professor), Teacher, DDS, PhD Murat Mutluay (part-time)
University Teacher, DDS  Teemu Tirri
University Teacher, PhD Roda Seseogullari-Dirihan 
University Teacher, PhD Thiago Stape (part-time)
University Teacher, DDS Liina Kallassalu
University Teacher, DDS Laura Ruohola


Research of the Department is widely networked worldwide and covers a wide range of areas from dental hard tissues and restorative materials to endodontic materials, caries microbiology and saliva research. 

Adhesive Dentistry Research Group is part of the profiling research programme of the BioCity Turku and the Faculty of Medicine. Focus of the research is in dental hard tissues, development of novel antimicrobial adhesives and bioactive materials and regenerative pulp therapies. Research activities are mainly conducted at Adhesive Dentistry Research lab at Institute of Dentistry in collaboration with other departments of the Faculty of Medicine, Åbo Akademi University, and Turku University Hospital.