Biodiversity Unit of the University of Turku

Multidisciplinary research and teaching lie at the heart of the activities of the Biodiversity Unit. As well as these, the unit also focuses on public outreach.

We study biodiversity and disseminate knowledge of it both academically and outside the academic community.

The Biodiversity Unit consists of the Natural History Museum (Zoological Museum and Herbarium) and the Aerobiology Unit on campus in Turku, the Botanical Garden in Ruissalo, the Kevo Subarctic Research Institute in Utsjoki, and the Archipelago Research Institute on the island of Seili.

Research topics addressed by our staff and students include the effect of climate change on subarctic biodiversity, the diversity of a wide range of taxa, and threats to the Archipelago Sea.

Learn more about the Biodiversity Unit