International networks

Baltic Sea Region Network in Personalized Health Care

BSRN Summer School 2023

7th Summer School of Baltic Sea Region Network in Personalized Health Care

June 7-9, 2023

organised by the Vilnius University, Vilnius, Lithuania

The purpose of the Summer school for PhD students is to learn new aspects of health sciences and present and obtain feedback on the students’ assignments in a supportive peer atmosphere. The extent of the Summer school is three (3) ECTS credits. Moreover, the purpose of the Summer school is to strengthen the collaborative Baltic Sea Region network.

More information and the application period will be announced later.

In case of any questions, please do not hesitate to ask! 

Hannakaisa Niela-Vilen,
Minna Stolt,

Information on BSRN

Baltic Sea Region Network in Personalized Health Care is a multi-disciplinary and cross-national network of the universities of the countries of the Baltic Sea Region. The aim of the network is to offer doctoral students in health sciences a systematically built, scientifically ambitious, and multidisciplinary research training which benefits from Baltic Sea Region contacts. It is expected that the network will contribute to the further improvement of the scientific standard of personalized healthcare research and increase the number of internationally competitive experts in Baltic Sea Region. It is notable, that personalized health care is an important element in many health promotion strategies.

Personalized healthcare is considered as a broad concept that includes novel concepts for patient assessment for the delivery of personalized and/or preventive healthcare interventions. Combining data and knowledge from different areas and pooling resources will pave the way for designing novel more personalized healthcare interventions. The focus is on demonstrating substantial improvements in patient health, well-being, the quality of life and extended functional capabilities by offering personalised and integrated healthcare services.

The following universities have joined the network:

  • Southern Denmark University, Odense, Denmark
  • Karolinska Institutet, Stockholm, Sweden
  • Western Norway University of Applied Sciences, Bergen, Norway
  • Klaipeda University, Klaipeda, Lithuania
  • Vilnius University, Vilnius, Lithuania
  • Rīga Stradiņš University, Riga, Latvia
  • University of Tartu, Tartu, Estonia
  • Medical University of Gdansk, Gdansk, Poland
  • University of Lübeck, Lübeck, Germany
  • University of Turku, Turku, Finland

The network was established in 2015 and is currently coordinated by the University of Turku, Finland. The network has regular virtual and face-to-face meetings to develop doctoral training, funding proposals and collaborative research. Yearly summer schools have been arranged since 2016 and many doctoral candidates and professors/senior researchers have participated in these stimulating events. Furthermore, yearly conferences targeted to doctoral candidates are arranged usually in November.

Board Members

The Academic Board was established 8th of June 2015. The board members are:

Contact Information

Senior Researcher Hannakaisa Niela-Vilen

University Lecturer Minna Stolt

    Previous Summer Schools
    • 2016 University of Southern Denmark, Odense, Denmark
    • 2017 University of Lübeck, Lübeck, Germany
    • 2018 University of Turku, Turku, Finland
    • 2019 Rīga Stradiņš University, Riga, Latvia
    • 2021 University of Tartu, Tartu, Estonia
    • 2022 Western Norway University of Applied Sciences, Bergen, Norway

    ICoNS - International Collaboration of Nurse Scholars

    ICoNS Summer School 2023
    Information on ICoNS
    Since 2004, academics from three continents have been working together to offer nurses the opportunity to be educated on global health and nursing issues from a research perspective.
    The ICoNS (previous The INPhD-International Nursing PhD Collaboration and IIANR International Institute Advanced Nursing Research) – was created by nursing doctoral programs from the University of Toronto (Canada), the University of the Balearic Islands (Spain), the University of Melbourne (Australia) and the Autonomous University of Nuevo León (Mexico). In 2007, the University of Sydney (Australia) joined the program followed by the University of Sao Paulo (Brazil), the University of Turku (Finland) in 2008 and   the University of Lleida (Spain) and the Rovira i Virgili University (Spain) in 2009. The Fudan University (China) also joined the network in 2015. These faculties are working together to create the next generation of global nursing researchers.
    The collaboration continues by organising summer schools biannually. The next summer school will be at the University of Turku in June 2023.

    Coordinating board

     The chair 
    • Sanna Salanterä, University of Turku
    • Montserrat Gea, University of Lleida
    • Eva Barallat, University of Lleida
    • Janice Gullick, University of Sydney
    • Helena Leino-Kilpi, University of Turku
    The board is for the time until an official meeting with all participating Universities is organised.
    Contact Information

    Professor Sanna Salanterä




    EANS Summer School

    EANS Summer Schools were established in 1998 to encourage nurses undertaking a PhD study to add a European dimension to their research and to receive advanced research training.

    Information on the summer schools can be found on the EANS website.