Organisation of the Faculty of Social Sciences

Official resolutions and decisions in the Faculty are made by the Dean and the Faculty Board. The Dean manages and supervises the operations of the Faculty.

The faculty board has nine elected members and an equal number of deputy members. Tenured and acting professors, teachers, researchers and students each choose one third of the Board members from among their ranks. The chairperson of the Board is the Dean.

Administrative services at the Faculty and University Central Services are responsible for implementing the decisions made by the Faculty Board and the Dean. Head of Administration implements these decisions on the administrative level as the Head of Student and Academic Affairs holds the responsibility for the student selection process and general study matters. The international cooperation of the Faculty is coordinated from the International Office. The Student Councellor of the Faculty provides study guidance on matters concerning undergraduate studies and study plans.

The Faculty of Social Sciences includes altogether three departments and one unit comparable with departments.

The Faculty is governed by numerous laws and degrees, university ordinances and other regulations.