Committees of the Faculty of Law

The committees appointed by the Dean participate in the planning of the operations of the Faculty.

Board of the Doctoral Programme in Law

Board of the Doctoral Programme in Law

The Director of the University of Turku Graduate School has appointed the members of the Board of the Doctoral Programme in Law for the period 1.8.-31.12.2019.


Professor Anne Kumpula (Chair)
Professor Juha Lavapuro
Assistant Professor Mika Viljanen
Postdoctoral Researcher Liisa Lähteenmäki
Doctoral Candidate Karoliina Helle (Doctoral Candidate Johanna Sammalmaa)
Doctoral Candidate Jussi Jaakkola (Doctoral Candidate Liudmila Sivetc)

Coordinator for Doctoral Studies acts as secratery and preparatory officer.

Research Committee

Research Committee

The research committee is responsible for the research evaluation and development in the faculty. The tasks of the research committee include designing of a research strategy and its implementation, strengthening of research funding conditions.

By the dean’s decision, research committee has been appointed for the period 1 August 2019 - 31 December 2019.

Professor Anne Alvesalo-Kuusi (Chair)
Professor Juha Lavapuro (Vice Chair)
Professor Mia Korpiola
University Teacher Johanna Friman
Postdoctoral Researcher Ulla-Maija Mylly
Postdoctoral Researcher Dhanay Cadillo Chandler
Doctoral Candidate Johanna Sammalmaa

University Lecturer Annika Rosin will substitute Johanna Friman, Ulla-Maija Mylly and Dhanay Cadillo Chandler.

Research Coordinator acts as secretary and preparatory officer.

Undergraduate Studies Committee

Undergraduate Studies Committee

By the dean’s decision, undergraduate studies committee has been appointed for the term 1 August 2019 - 31 December 2019 to plan and develop the education of the Bachelor’s and Master’s degrees,  included The Master's Degree Programme in Law and Information Society (LIS), offered by the faculty.

Professor Janne Salminen (Chair)
Professor Tuulikki Mikkola (Vice Chair)
University Lecturer Heini Kainulainen
Doctoral Candidate Anna Hurmerinta-Haanpää
Student Elina Soininen
Student Roosa Toivonen

Deputy Members:
Professor Raimo Siltala (Mikkola)
Doctoral Candidate Samuri Melart (Kainulainen)
Doctoral Candidate Nea Oljakka (Hurmerinta-Haanpää)
Student Kalle Kuusisto (Soininen)
Student Anna Correa de Mora (Toivonen)

Deputy members participate in the committee's work if a member is unable to attend, or disqualified.

The Head of Student and Academic Affairs acts as secretary and preparatory officer.

Educational Competence Committee

Educational Competence Committee

Educational competence committee is responsible for the teaching skills' development of teaching and research staff in the faculty. Another task of the educational competence committee is to assist the responsible groups in the assessment of top appliciants for the teaching and research tasks.

By the dean’s decision, Educational competence committee has been appointed from 1 August to 31 December 2019.

Professor Tuomas Hupli (Chair)
Professor Tuulikki Mikkola (Vice Chair)
Professor Antti Aine
Doctoral Candidate Toni Selkälä
Doctoral Candidate Johannes Lamminen
Student Roni Sirjonen

Deputy Members
Professor Jukka Snell (Mikkola, Aine)
Doctoral Candidate Anna Hurmerinta-Haanpää (Selkälä)
Doctoral Candidate Johanna Sammalmaa (Lamminen)